Films at the Vancouver International Film Festival 2013


It’s September 23, and so far I have seen 18 films. I review them as I see them and drop each into one of four categories: “Don’t miss”, “Recommended”, “Okay as a time filler”, and “Avoid at all costs”. Categories may shift as the festival blossoms and I become more weary. Click on the film title to see my thoughts. Go to VIFF to get the official details about the festival and individual films.

Having trouble with the links. Stay tuned.

Don’t miss

Desert Runners;  Liv & Ingmar; The Project

Recommended

Big Men;  Breathing Earth;  Cesar’s Grill;  The Italian Character;    Village at the End of the World;  Your Day is My Night;

Okay as a filler

Ali ; Fanie Fourie’s Lobola;  Kiss the Water;  Money For Nothing;   Oil Sands Karaoke;  On the Edge of the World;  Salmon Confidential;  Stand Clear of the Closing Doors

Avoid at all costs

The Strange Little Cat

About aharmlessdrudge

Way back during the late Bronze age -- actually it was the 1950s -- all of us in high school had to take a vocational test to determine our interests and, supposedly, our future careers. I cannot remember the outcome, but I do recall one question that gave me pause. "If you were to win a Nobel prize, would it be in literature or in physics?" I hesitated over the question: although I enjoyed mathematics and science more than English class, I did have a couple of unfinished (and very bad) novels hidden away at home. I cannot remember what I chose back then, but the dilemma followed me to university, where I switched from mathematics to English and -- after a five-year stint in journalism -- back to mathematics. I recently retired as a professor of statistics. Retirement. What a good chance to revive my literary ambitions. I have finished a novel -- more about that in good time -- and a rubble of drafts of articles about mathematics and statistics is taking up space on my hard disk.
This entry was posted in Film Reviews, Uncategorized, VIFF and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

