VIFF 2012, Day 12: The best and the worst so far


The best and the worst so far

Updated: 8 October 2012

Seen so far: 47  films in 45 screenings. Two films, Hebreo and Karajan – The Second Life, were shown as one screening; same goes for Rushdie and Frankenstein. One screening (Little Trips 2) was a set of short films, that I did not review. An asterisk indicates a film that I did not review.

The Best. Hunter’s Bride (Opera); Becoming Redwood (Drama); Hebreo: The Search for Salomone Rossi (Documentary); The Hunt (Drama); The Key of Life (Comedy-Thriller); Lore (Drama); The Unlikely Girl (Mystery-Drama); Amour (Drama)

Most Quirky. Mountain Runners (Documentary); The Great Northwest (Documentary)

The Worst. Breakfast with Curtis (Supposedly a comedy); Design of Death.

Most Over-rated. These films are okay, but do not deserve the acclaim they received at the festival. The Flat (the sanctimonious director accuses everyone of deception or apathy); Rust and Bone (a film written by a committee with a copy of “How to Write a Screenplay in Three Easy Lessons”); As Luck Would Have It (an unlikeable central character in a contrived drama).

Can’t Make Up My Mind. Paradise: Love.

The Rest. My Father and the Man in Black; Camel Caravan; Revision; Love in the Medina; No Job for a Woman; Blood Relative; Day of All Saints; The Sound of the Bandoneon; Little Trips 2*; Persistence of Vision*;Side by Side; Karajan — The Second Life; Wagner’s Dream; Helpless; Twilight Portrait; Werewolf Boy; Berberian Sound Stage; Oros; The Last White Knight;  Nameless Gangster; Joffrey:Mavericks of American Dance; No; We’re Not Broke; Virgin Tales; Salman Rushdie:Imagining India; Frankenstein:A Modern Myth; A Liar’s Autobiography; Rose; Grabbers; I, Anna;Renoir.

About aharmlessdrudge

Way back during the late Bronze age -- actually it was the 1950s -- all of us in high school had to take a vocational test to determine our interests and, supposedly, our future careers. I cannot remember the outcome, but I do recall one question that gave me pause. "If you were to win a Nobel prize, would it be in literature or in physics?" I hesitated over the question: although I enjoyed mathematics and science more than English class, I did have a couple of unfinished (and very bad) novels hidden away at home. I cannot remember what I chose back then, but the dilemma followed me to university, where I switched from mathematics to English and -- after a five-year stint in journalism -- back to mathematics. I recently retired as a professor of statistics. Retirement. What a good chance to revive my literary ambitions. I have finished a novel -- more about that in good time -- and a rubble of drafts of articles about mathematics and statistics is taking up space on my hard disk.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

