VIFF 2011 Reviews: Happy, Happy.


Happy, Happy. Norway, 85 min.

Silly, silly. When Elisabeth and Sigve move to the north of Norway and rent a house from a local couple (bubbly Kaja and taciturn Eirik), the tension in both marriages rises to the surface. Those of us ready for a Scandinavian version of Who’s Afraid of Virginian Woolf are disappointed: the male characters are shallow (suppressed homosexuality is as deep as it gets) and the female characters are alternately angry and seductive. And the all-important  humour never connects with the drama. A disturbing subplot in which Kaja and Eirik’s son enslaves the other couple’s adopted African son remains unexplored.

And that’s number seventy-one.The 2011 Vancouver International Film Festival ended today (Friday, 14 October). Now I can sleep late. Of course, I missed most of the 300-plus films, but it’s impossible to see more than 100.

About aharmlessdrudge

Way back during the late Bronze age -- actually it was the 1950s -- all of us in high school had to take a vocational test to determine our interests and, supposedly, our future careers. I cannot remember the outcome, but I do recall one question that gave me pause. "If you were to win a Nobel prize, would it be in literature or in physics?" I hesitated over the question: although I enjoyed mathematics and science more than English class, I did have a couple of unfinished (and very bad) novels hidden away at home. I cannot remember what I chose back then, but the dilemma followed me to university, where I switched from mathematics to English and -- after a five-year stint in journalism -- back to mathematics. I recently retired as a professor of statistics. Retirement. What a good chance to revive my literary ambitions. I have finished a novel -- more about that in good time -- and a rubble of drafts of articles about mathematics and statistics is taking up space on my hard disk.
This entry was posted in Film Reviews, VIFF. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

